Skip to content

“You know you need to be on more happy pills when you complain about afternoons off”

October 20, 2007

hate.jpg

So I said to myself, Michelle? Myself said, hmmm? I said, why are you so “busy” on this so-called rotation?

I don’t know. I’m not really I suppose. After all, I have all my afternoons off. Yup that’s right.

Radiology thus far has been a nice break. I don’t have to be there until 8am, and I’m done sometime from 10:30-noon. The busyness comes in those afternoons when I no longer have the excuse to put off all the projects I’d previously been too busy for. So thats what I’ve been up to. Mystery projects. That and Netflix 🙂 The Office Season 3 isn’t going to watch itself, now is it?

I’d hoped to use that time to update more regularly, but so little goes on with radiology that I decided to just do it weekly. Now I’m thinking I might just wait until the end of the 2 weeks. Seriously, how can I make a fresh new post on every day of this?

Day 1- sat in dark room, looked at knee MR’s, tried everything to stay awake…
Day 2- sat in dark room, looked at shoulder MR’s, intentionally poured coffee on my lap to stay awake…such an exciting life I lead.

I’ve also been kinda depressed. I’m not sure what it is. Two days into radiology, I lost all desire to read about medicine. On the third day, I lost my appetite. On the fourth day, I was sick. I’m not sure if the depression made me sick, or I had a virus coming on and that was just the prodrome. Or it might be the changing weather.

A sidenote on the weather: Today it was 80 degrees and sunny. Tomorrow we’re supposed to get 3 inches of snow. WTF Denver?! Am I still in Missouri?

Maybe its radiology. Generally I love an afternoon off, but ALL afternoons off? I’m too OCD for this. I’m running out of things to do. I’m fully rested…and thanks very much radiology, I can no longer blame the ever-present dark circles unde rmy eyes on being perpetually exhausted. Apparently they are here to stay. Plus radiology…ugh…its pretty much the opposite of everything I want to do. All machines. No patient contact. No hands-on. I suppose I enjoy the anatomy review, but otherwise I’m going batty.

Lastly, this business of medicine is terribly lonely. I miss my girls who are scattered around the country, and I have no idea when I’ll see them again. The other med student friends in the region are all busy doing their own thing, I only really see them every other Friday for Education Days. I try not to pounce on them, but I get the vibe from them that I come off a little pathetic sometimes. Like, ohmigod, another human being my age, please please please talk to me! I haven’t made any new friends either b/c really, where would I meet them? I’m with my preceptor all day, then study at night, with the occasional workout or movie thrown in. I’ve been lucky that I at least see my husband on a regular basis, but next month I’m being shipped down to Colorado Springs and I’ll only see him on the weekends.

OK, this is getting a bit more depressing than I’ve meant it to be. Especially since I really do love Denver and being on rotations. I suppose nothing is ever going to be 100%. I’ll either be doing what I love, in an area I love, or with people I love. A bit greedy to expect all 3, huh?

P.S. One of things that’s been on my list forever and has now been accomplished is redoing my Humor page, so check it out. Toy store!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 23, 2007 11:21 pm

    I ❤ Micahihi!!! and i miss you muchly! how does fri nov 9-sun nov 11 sound for me to visit? will you be in colorado springs by then? or i could try for some last minute deal for the weekend before that….i would call now but my phone is DEAD 😦

Leave a comment