Skip to content

Facebook Info Update

December 30, 2009

As posted in the Info section of my Facebook:

“Its almost the New Year and I couldn’t be more excited for it because in May I am finally graduating med school and then heading out to Honolulu, Hawaii for a psychiatry residency at Tripler Army Medical Center!

Actually I am not sure EXACTLY when I will be moving. I graduate May 15th and the start date for residency is July 1st, but I am also supposed to do a 6 week Officer’s Training in there somewhere so who knows.

Here’s some answers to common questions:
-Residency is 4 years long
-I owe the Army 4 years after that, though I may choose to stay longer
-Not sure where I’ll go after that, maybe Ft. Leonard Wood in MO… maybe Germany!
-the dogs can come without a 6 month quarantine, it just takes alot of prep work
-I will be saving money & time to visit home twice a year
I am not concerned with “Island Fever”… I have been stuck on the island of Kirksville for 8 years

My To Do List:
-find a rental home in Hawaii
-decide what to do with vehicles
-navigate all the prep work to get the dogs moved over with us
-find out when I do OT
-plan a trip to Maine before or after graduation
-have a GINORMOUS yard sale
-get a new computer
-get new phones

I know, things took a total left turn, but it is awesome and we are so excited! We’ll keep you updated, check back here or my blog Michelle Vs the Med Student”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Maya permalink
    December 31, 2009 7:55 am

    How exciting– this sounds absolutely fabulous! I’m glad the puppies can go with you without being separated for 6 months, thats great! All the prep will be worth the sunny blue skies and great ocean views 🙂

Leave a comment