Skip to content

August Round-up

September 25, 2009
At the very end of July, I was commissioned by the Army in Kansas City. I joined the Health Professional Scholarship Program (HPSP) so that I could do the psych residency in Hawaii. The only other place I could end up would be Washington DC so... think Hawaiian thoughts!!

At the very end of July, I was commissioned by the Army in Kansas City. I joined the Health Professional Scholarship Program (HPSP) so that I could do the psych residency in Hawaii. The only other place I could end up would be Washington DC so... think Hawaiian thoughts!!

The first weekend in August, we went back to visit Dad. I had missed Father's Day so I got my Dad some authentic Hawaiian shirts while in Honolulu. But when I returned, I went straight from the airport to Kirksville, so I needed to go back to give him his gifts. It was alot of travelling but thats OK, BB drove most of the way this time.

The first weekend in August, we went back to visit Dad. I had missed Father's Day so I got my Dad some authentic Hawaiian shirts while in Honolulu. But when I returned, I went straight from the airport to Kirksville, so I needed to go back to give him his gifts. It was alot of travelling but thats OK, BB drove most of the way this time.

For the month of August, I was on a Family Practice rotation here in Kirksville. At the end of my 1st week, the hospital held a luau by the local pool. Oh such cruelty to tease someone who is missing Hawaii with a luau that consists hamburgers, hotdogs and giant pineapple decorations. I think that reads pretty well on my face here, that Josh felt the dying need to capture. We had a nice day though. I got to wear my new sarong and we chilled at the pool.

For the month of August, I was on a Family Practice rotation here in Kirksville. At the end of my 1st week, the hospital held a luau by the local pool. Oh such cruelty to tease someone who is missing Hawaii with a luau that consists hamburgers, hotdogs and giant pineapple decorations. I think that reads pretty well on my face here, that Josh felt the dying need to capture. We had a nice day though. I got to wear my new sarong and we chilled at the pool.

So for most of the month I didn't do much else interesting. Josh and I redecorated a bit. I kept chugging along in the FP rotation. Did my first night of real call. No big whoop. I did however, find out my friend and other previous OMM fellow Bethany is pregnant, and my friend and previous OMM secretary Richelle had this little guy: Jacob Preston. I went to visit him at 3 weeks. He is much more handsome than the picture implies but I was very pleased with how the bunny on my shirt is staring at him ominously and he's totally trying to avoid eye contact. Great, give him a complex about the pink bunny with evil red eyes.

So for most of the month I didn't do much else interesting. Josh and I redecorated a bit. I kept chugging along in the FP rotation. Did my first night of real call. No big whoop. I did however, find out my friend and other previous OMM fellow Bethany is pregnant, and my friend and previous OMM secretary Richelle had this little guy: Jacob Preston. I went to visit him at 3 weeks. He is much more handsome than the picture implies but I was very pleased with how the bunny on my shirt is staring at him ominously and he's totally trying to avoid eye contact. Great, give him a complex about the pink bunny with evil red eyes.

I didn't do much exciting this month because I was very stressed out (and poor!). Hawaii was expensive and the Army was less than quick about paying me, so I spent alot of nights sitting in a corner, rocking. Not really, but I was stressed! And I missed Hawaii! What helped was meditation, just picturing me sitting atop Koko Head, calm, everything having worked out. Which I did. I eventually got paid, finished with FP and moved onto Pulmonology & Pathology in September. Doesn't that sound more exciting already?

I didn't do much exciting this month because I was very stressed out (and poor!). Hawaii was expensive and the Army was less than quick about paying me, so I spent alot of nights sitting in a corner, rocking. Not really, but I was stressed! And I missed Hawaii! What helped was meditation, just picturing me sitting atop Koko Head, calm, everything having worked out. Which I did. I eventually got paid, finished with FP and moved onto Pulmonology & Pathology in September. Doesn't that sound more exciting already?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

