Skip to content

July Round-up

September 1, 2009
So for the rest of the month in Hawaii, I stayed with a Navy spouse I met on Craigslist, Nicole. She lived in Hawaii Kai, on the eastern side of the island, only half an hour from work. This was the view from the yard of Koko Head!

So for the rest of the month in Hawaii, I stayed with a Navy spouse I met on Craigslist, Nicole. She lived in Hawaii Kai, on the eastern side of the island, only half an hour from work. This was the view from the yard of Koko Head!

I did my psychiatry rotation here, at Tripler AMC, a big pink hospital set atop a mountain.

I did my psychiatry rotation here, at Tripler AMC, a big pink hospital set atop a mountain.

The first weekend of my rotation was a 4 day weekend due to 4th of July! I went to Nicole's friend Kai's house for their luau. See their cute little BBQ with a view! There was teriyaki chicken, short ribs, poke (raw fish) and lots of salad and fresh fruit. SO YUMMY! I made a strawberry shortcake, they had loved it, but had never seen such a thing! Afterward, we went to another friends house in the mountains to watch the fireworks, then back to Kai's to set off fireworks in the streets. Drunken fireworks? I felt at home!!

The first weekend of my rotation was a 4 day weekend due to 4th of July! I went to Nicole's friend Kai's house for their luau. See their cute little BBQ with a view! There was teriyaki chicken, short ribs, poke (raw fish) and lots of salad and fresh fruit. SO YUMMY! I made a strawberry shortcake, they had loved it, but had never seen such a thing! Afterward, we went to another friends house in the mountains to watch the fireworks, then back to Kai's to set off fireworks in the streets. Drunken fireworks? I felt at home!!

The holiday weekend I was able to do a little exploring. I made it out to Halona Blowhole Lookout. It looks like these dudes need to lookout, bc people would walk out on the jagged rock right in front of where the blowhole goes off. Unfortunately I didn't get a very good shot of it going off, or anyone eating it.

The holiday weekend I was able to do a little exploring. I made it out to Halona Blowhole Lookout. It looks like these dudes need to lookout, bc people would walk out on the jagged rock right in front of where the blowhole goes off. Unfortunately I didn't get a very good shot of it going off, or anyone eating it.

Josh and I wandered along this coast line when we went to Sea Life Park. See the black rocks on the little peninsula? That's where I took Josh's pic before. We had noticed a lighthouse on top of a mountain, but didn't have time to make the trek up. I decided in my 2nd weekend to try to climb up to it. I got attacked by cacti so I couldn't go that way, but I made it up the mountain pretty damn high.

Josh and I wandered along this coast line when we went to Sea Life Park. See the black rocks on the little peninsula? That's where I took Josh's pic before. We had noticed a lighthouse on top of a mountain, but didn't have time to make the trek up. I decided in my 2nd weekend to try to climb up to it. I got attacked by cacti so I couldn't go that way, but I made it up the mountain pretty damn high.

I knew my last weekend would be short so I had to get in as much exploring as possible on my 3rd weekend. My first stop was Hanauma Bay! I didn't pay to get in but the park area was beautiful and I got a nice view of the beach. Plus I saw a mongoose!

I knew my last weekend would be short so I had to get in as much exploring as possible on my 3rd weekend. My first stop was Hanauma Bay! I didn't pay to get in but the park area was beautiful and I got a nice view of the beach. Plus I saw a mongoose!

After Hanauma Bay, I took the actual trail up to the top of the mountain from the previous week. I know why I didn't do it last time, it added like an extra 2 miles onto the hike! But wow, you could really see down the coast line from the top!!

After Hanauma Bay, I took the actual trail up to the top of the mountain from the previous week. I know why I didn't do it last time, it added like an extra 2 miles onto the hike! But wow, you could really see down the coast line from the top!!

I finished off the my 3rd weekend with my favorite food, Spicy Ahi, at the lookout point above Hawaii Kai. You could see the whole town surrounded by the ocean and mountains!

I finished off the my 3rd weekend with my favorite food, Spicy Ahi, at the lookout point above Hawaii Kai. You could see the whole town surrounded by the ocean and mountains!

I took this on my last day of my rotation, which was mostly spent doing outprocessing. Its the view from the hospital's lanai. Them were some tall palm trees! And it was such a gorgeous view of the ocean. I was so sad to leave!

I took this on my last day of my rotation, which was mostly spent doing outprocessing. Its the view from the hospital's lanai. Them were some tall palm trees! And it was such a gorgeous view of the ocean. I was so sad to leave!

I spent Friday afternoon of my last day off buying souvenirs at Hilo Hatties, having dinner with Nicole at the Kona Brewery, and relaxing on my favorite beach, Waimanalo. It was so peaceful there! I spent Saturday with my favorite newlyweds, Bethany and Brandon, taking the long drive through the center of the island. The roads were lined with giant, ancient looking trees. We then skirted the eastern coast, where the road is one foot off the water practically, stopping in at Chinaman's Hat before making our way to the North Shore. I wish I had pictures, but I honestly forgot my camera. DOH! I'll post some once Bethany sends me some of hers. It was such a lovely yet sad day... fun with my friends in Hawaii, but I was heartbroken having to leave!

I spent Friday afternoon of my last day off buying souvenirs at Hilo Hatties, having dinner with Nicole at the Kona Brewery, and relaxing on my favorite beach, Waimanalo. It was so peaceful there! I spent Saturday with my favorite newlyweds, Bethany and Brandon, taking the long drive through the center of the island. The roads were lined with giant, ancient looking trees. We then skirted the eastern coast, where the road is one foot off the water practically, stopping in at Chinaman's Hat before making our way to the North Shore. I wish I had pictures, but I honestly forgot my camera. DOH! I'll post some once Bethany sends me some of hers. It was such a lovely yet sad day... fun with my friends in Hawaii, but I was heartbroken having to leave!

The plane took off at 9pm in Hawaii and landed at noon in STL. OY! Upon landing in STL, totally sleep deprived and desheveled, who do I run into? Cora and Mr. Brown!! I didn't want my pic taken, I knew I looked terrible, but they kept saying, little white girl, why are your hands shaking? So yay! Embarassed myself in front of the Browns. OMG... at least it wasn't in front of TYLER!

The plane took off at 9pm in Hawaii and landed at noon in STL. OY! Upon landing in STL, totally sleep deprived and desheveled, who do I run into? Cora and Mr. Brown!! I didn't want my pic taken, I knew I looked terrible, but they kept saying, little white girl, why are your hands shaking? So yay! Embarassed myself in front of the Browns. OMG... at least it wasn't in front of TYLER!

Josh surprised me by picking me up at the airport! He drove all the way down, took me to lunch at Olive Garden, then drove all the way back, with me napping the WHOLE way. What a trooper! When I got back, I was surprised again with a super clean house, and cake and ice cream! I guess someone missed me" title="Josh surprised me by picking me up at the airport! He drove all the way down, took me to lunch at Olive Garden, then drove all the way back, with me napping the WHOLE way. What a trooper! When I got back, I was surprised again with a super clean house, and cake and ice cream! I guess someone missed me

Josh surprised me by picking me up at the airport! He drove all the way down, took me to lunch at Olive Garden, then drove all the way back, with me napping the WHOLE way. What a trooper! When I got back, I was surprised again with a super clean house, and cake and ice cream! I guess someone missed me\

I missed him too... and even these knuckleheads. Can you believe how big BB got while I was gone?!

I missed him too... and even these knuckleheads. Can you believe how big BB got while I was gone?!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

