Skip to content

Maine trip

September 1, 2008

My mom’s side of the family all live in and around Bangor, Maine. My mom has a sister named Kim, whose oldest son Ryan got married last weekend. The school was generous enough to allow me half a week off during the first week of classes to go enjoy all the wedding festivities (and last minute free labor).

An example of my free labor

An example of my free labor

Before I left, I wasn’t doing so well. I was at my heaviest, I had been very stressed out by office work and my finances, and just not very happy in general, living alone in Kirksville. Going to Maine was exactly what I needed. Not only was I with a massive family, whose constant outpouring of love towards me is overwhelming, but we were all absolutely exuberant celebrating a very accepted & joyful wedding.

The Wedding Party chillin' at the rehearsal dinner...Groom in the center

The Wedding Party chillin' at the rehearsal dinner...Groom in the center

It was a beautiful outdoor wedding behind the Lucerne Inn, with rolling hills of evergreens as the backdrop. Afterwards, we all went up the hill to the inn for the reception, the likes of which you have never seen. The problem with most receptions I go to these days is that they try to impress with how coordinated and expensive-looking everything is. Though this one was very nice looking, what was astounding was the LOVE. Guest after guest got up to toast the couple, and then the dancing. Oh my God, the dancing. The dance floor was packed the whole night. I know b/c I was smack in the middle, dancing my heart out just like everyone else. I’ve missed that energy and passion in my life, and it rejuvenated my spirit.

Everyone pitching in...

Everyone pitching in...

...to make a beautiful rehearsal dinner.

...to make a beautiful rehearsal dinner.

Sorry I don’t have pics of the wedding. The problem with having the eye of a photographer is that you separate yourself from the festivities, and I didn’t want to be on the sidelines this time. My aunts took hundreds of pics, so I’m sure I’ll get some later, but for now, b/c I didn’t separate myself, I have the memories. And the peace of mind from spending a week amongst this crazy, dramatic, fun, silly, passionate, loving family of mine.

Aunt Kim, Aunt Wendy, Aunt Shell & Me

Aunt Kim, Aunt Wendy, Aunt Shell & Me

So now I’m back in town and of course, the trip went by too quickly, but so it goes. It was enough to remind me how loved and NOT alone I am. My only regret?….Not getting one of these!

Snapper Hot Dog w/ Split Top Bun

Maine is the only place to get snapper hot dog w/ a split top bun

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

