Skip to content

Now that COMLEX is done…

August 27, 2008

…I can let you in on what I’ve been up to. Namely, the fellowship.

What is the fellowship exactly? Well, a year ago I applied to take a year off between my 3rd & 4th year to be a paid teacher’s aide essentially. There’s the obvious benefits of a salary and free tuition my 4th year, plus it doesn’t look bad on a CV…BUT…its a a great learning experience. And I absolutely LOVE working with the students.

So what exactly am I doing? Well… other than make anal retentive post-its…I get to shadow OMM masters in the clinic, help teach in all the labs, go to a ton of lectures and conventions, and take on whatever other projects I can fit in, like helping with anatomy dissections. The office work involved weighs me down, some days driving to a point where the other fellows tell me to either double my dose of Lexapro or take my work home for an “academic afternoon” so they don’t have to deal with my bitchiness. But in the end, when I am actually doing the job…helping the first years or working in the clinic…it makes sense why I am here.

Another benefit of the fellowship is that I have my evenings to myself. I am able to read normal books, study for fun, and really take time to think about what I want to do…where I might go in my career. I also have time to work on the various projects I’ve been putting off quite awhile… some professional, some just for fun and/or profit. As I posted below, I have gotten more involved with my photography to the point of opening an etsy shop. I don’t expect to make anything significant on it, but just the idea that someone liked my art enough to PAY?! Wow. Some stuff I’ve taken was never meant to be “art” except to display around my house, such as the one above which I finally finished and put together. I love it because the pics aren’t meant to be super pretty, but I wanted to capture the personality of each member of the family. Happy-go-lucky Tess. Sweet baby Roxy. Intense Josh. And…well…fill in the blank for me. What do you see?

Oh and I finally have access to a computer with Photoshop, a program I have been DYING to learn forever. Here’s a pic of my mom that I restored. It used to look like someone sneezed on it and then chewed the corners. I hope she forgives me for posting it 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2008 4:36 am

    She looks great. I don’t think she’d mind you posting it.

  2. Erin permalink
    August 28, 2008 9:10 am

    Hi Michelle! It’s your favorite Sister-in-Law! Hope you don’t mind me stalking you now =)

Leave a Reply

