Skip to content

Friday the 13th my Firefox rose from the dead

June 13, 2008

That sounds like a really dorky B horror movie.

My Firefox suddenly died 4 days ago. Before then, all I had done was a song I wrote about my FP rotation called “Boring as Hell (But Rum Gets Me By)”. I got halfway through that and decided to switch gears and now I am working on a parody of “I-N-D-E-P-E-N-D-E-N-T” called “M-E-D-S-T-U-D-E-N-T”, which needless to say, is much less depressing to write (and requires less rum and tequila in the process). I’ve also been doing alot of photography art projects which I will post at least the individual pictures that make up those projects on flickr soon. Channeling these creative energies elsewhere has made me neglect the blog a little bit. Lo siento.

But as I was saying, Firefox randomly stopped coming up on Monday. I would click on it, it would seem to think for a bit, then stop. Multiple restarts did nothing. Neither did uninstalling and reinstalling Firefox. Internet Explorer worked fine, so I was tempted to come here and rant about the Microsoft/Vista conspiracy that destroyed my computer with Windows XP on it so I’d have to buy this new comp with Vista on it, and now it won’t let me use a non-Microsoft web browser! Argh, fuck Bill Gates in the ear, I say!!

Today it came back after a third attempt at reinstallation. There’s apparently a way to do it where you delete every single remnant of Firefox on your computer, not just the traditional uninstall. After doing that “clean uninstall”, it had finally come back to life. I don’t know what happened to make it go away. My theory is the recent neglect, and not being truly grateful of the convenience and loveliness that is Firefox. I love you Firefox, don’t ever leave me again!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

