Skip to content

Finally something medically-related…

February 29, 2008

So as I start a new rotation this week (OB/GYN) and try to get to know a new preceptor, I inevitably get the question, “So…what field do you want to go into?” Hey, I’m just gonna put it out there…I don’t know what branch of medicine I’m going into. NO IDEA. I like doing OMM, but thats not ALL I want to do. Physical Medicine & Rehab sounds interesting, but I don’t have any experience in it, so who knows if I’d actually like it. I like working with babies, but being a Pediatrician is 90% cough & colds & paranoid parents, 10% serious and heartbreaking. I sometimes think I’m the right personality to do Oncology, but again, no real experience. So far, the only rotation that I was excited to get up at 4am for everyday was Internal Medicine-Cardiology. So, if I had to say where I am leaning, its IM.

Well I can’t exactly launch into this diatribe everytime I’m asked this. So I’ve had to come up with a quick answer and b/c I’m not sure what I want to be, I don’t think its a lie. IT does actually interest me, so maybe it could happen. I mentioned this conundrum to another medstudent today…

Other medstudent: “So what do you tell docs you want to be then?”
Me: “Interventional Cardio”
Other medstudent: “Why that?”
Me: “Well if I say anything primary, including IM, I get the speech about how I’ll never make enough money to pay off my loans. If I say PM&R, they might ask me why, and all I can say is “I just think it sounds neat.” If I say Oncology, they’ll ask if there is a story there and then I have to launch into my mom’s story and its just such a serious conversation when first meeting someone. So I say IM- Intervent Cardio, b/c 1) IM is general enough to where whatever the rotation is, it could apply somehow and they don’t feel like they are wasting their time teaching me, 2) “Cardio” makes me sound smart, and 3) “Interventional” b/c they always respect the desire to do billable procedures.”

I’ll have alot of time to ponder my future, while I do this for the next month…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2008 2:42 pm

    omG this is the best thing since the OMM Championships!

  2. March 1, 2008 5:49 pm

    I agree! Hey, is there a video of the championships online? Oh oh! or how about the osteostache commercial??

Leave a Reply

