Skip to content

So this is how you wanna play it, fine

October 3, 2007

OK, so I am writing this at like 4:30 am as I sit in a dark room eating a scrambled egg and cereal, searching through an online surgical textbook. This wasn’t exactly how I pictured my anesthesia rotation, but here I am, trying to prep for surgery and a gases quiz today.

I obviously don’t have much time, but here’s the scoop. Through some miscommunication with his staff, I missed half of my first day with my preceptor. He didn’t hold it against me, but still not a great way to start. Then yesterday, determined to make up for the first day, I studied the night before about the basics of anesthesia, and a little bit about mitral valve replacements, b/c we would be assisting with two. Again, I was a bit off.

I got up at 5am to read over stuff and take a shower, then drive to the site at 6am, so I could get there by 7am, and be ready by the time he showed up at 7:30am. We had talked about how I might get to intubate someone in the next few days, but apparently that also meant I should have read up exactly how to do it. Sounds kinda dumb, but hey, I do actually know how to do it, I just don’t know how to describe it step by step, and what to do if they have weird anatomy. So minus 10 demerits for me.

Turns out we didn’t talk about much of the basics. We talked about how I don’t know the full anatomy of the trachea. And how I don’t know the name of the murmur you get with aortic insufficiency (just what it sounds like & why) or the history of mitral valve replacement or how to reverse heparin (I looked it up, we weren’t taught it) or about any of the million drugs that aren’t in my pharmocopeia on my PDA. Argh. Minus like 100 demerits.

Oh! Plus he doesn’t like to sit, so I stood in one spot from 8am-5pm. Jesus my back hurts.

So today I gotta rock it or else I’m sure he’ll resign me to just one of the next stupid generation of doctors. I’ll probably still pass since he is actually a very nice guy, but I don’t particularly want to look like an idiot. I’m just going to have to treat this like its my surgery rotation I guess and go hardcore. Hence me passing out at 9p last night and waking up at 4:30 today to study.

Which I should get back to now. Wish me luck.

P.S. Despite the difficulty, yesterday was an awesome today b/c I saw my first live beating heart!

P.P.S. I’ll soon post on my FP experience, but as you can see, I’m a little preoccupied for a day or so.

P.P.P.S. There was a mormon on House last night!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2007 12:15 am

    i love you. you’re doing such a great job, in spite of all the bullshit :~)

  2. October 4, 2007 9:41 pm

    I love you too, and I miss you! I’d love to know how you’re handling the world of clinical medicine đŸ™‚ Prolly same BS everywhere, huh?

Leave a Reply

