Skip to content

This is why I waited so long

September 2, 2007

Oh God I hate this.

I had my oral surgery on Wed and things seemed to have gone really well. They had prepped me with an IV, put in painlessly, then drifted off to sleep with lovely, lovely meds. I woke up not remembering a thing and in no pain. I was driven home and crashed on the couch for hours.

When I woke up, I was still having some bleeding issues and the numbness was wearing off. More alert now, I slammed down a Slimfast, took the pain meds, and changed the gauze. I had to apply pressure for quite awhile and was still doing a bit more than oozing for about a day, but otherwise, I felt my recovery had been surprisingly quick and uneventful. There were no chipmunk cheeks. I was only taking half the meds prescribed and felt ok to eat something other than soup & Slimfast after 2 1/2 days. People were shocked at orientation the day after my surgery how normal I looked.

Then Fri, I woke up at 5:30a with my whole head throbbing. I slowly sipped some Slimfast b/c the cold was a shock to my jaw. Once I got half of it in, I took the pain meds and sat there in the dark waiting for it to kick in. Around 6a, some of the edge was taken off, so I got dressed for orientation and headed out. By the end of the 45 min ride to the hospital, I was feeling good enough to have a few bites of bagel.

That night I felt like some food was caught back there. I looked and saw a gaping hole in my jaw. Shit. Its Friday before a long holiday weekend. I called the emergency beeper and was told to find a syringe to keep it clean, but otherwise, there’s not much to be done.

So now its Sun morning. I’ve waken up the same way the past two days and you can see how I am dreading my first day of rotations having to deal with this. Maybe Wed at the follow-up I’ll get some relief.

This is why I waited so long to do this. I hate being sick and needing taking care of. I hate not being 100% and ready to work.

One thing has helped though, other than the Percocet:  Ramsey’s Kitchen Nightmares

Powered by ScribeFire.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

