Skip to content

Convo at a glance

March 29, 2007

Learned:
-PINS
-The perfect lumbar roll
-Manual percussion & vibration
-How to treat the 10 most common ailments
-How to treat every joint with one technique (from Stanley Schiowitz)
-that I have flat feet and a sluggish thyroid

Bought:
-2 tshirts
-Fish oil
-Whole body cleanse
-COMLEX OMM review book
-Dark chocolate (for therapeutic purposes 🙂 of course)
-a thermos for Josh
-orthotics for the flat feet

My fave quotes:

“I know its your arm but lets call it your femur”

“If you do this, people are going to think you are so fucking smart!”

“Swing the meatball!”

“If I wake up naked its not my fault…”

“What did AT Still say about ear wax? The body secretes nothing in vain!”

Inspirations:

“Don’t find the dysfunction, find the health! You can’t untangle a knot until you find the spot that is loose.”

“Everything has its natural rhythm…restore it to restore function.”

“Keep it pure, keep it pure.”

Going to Convo has really given me the kick in the butt I needed as an osteopath. For awhile I’ve felt like an MD who can get a wicked back pop…but now I have come to really see the possibilities for OMM. I am elated by these prospects but also angry. Why don’t more people know about this? Why isn’t it even really being taught…at the founding school no less?! Soon I’ll need to elaborate further…

Until then…I don’t know what this is either but it was up during awards…
apple shoe
Check out the rest of the photos!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2007 4:02 pm

    http://osteopathicintegration.googlepages.com

    Now you see the cause for this fight?

  2. March 29, 2007 8:51 pm

    I think its important that things be incorporated, but I’m more mad at how our omm department handles this. Right now its all very…apologetic almost…SOME studies have shown this TENDS to help a cold by restoring lymph, blah blah blah. This is incredible shit…its not for the timid! They should be shouting, HEY, LOOK HOW COOL THIS IS! I mean, it blew my mind that we can treat afib with cranial when it has largely been shown to be ineffectively treated by the 20 or so friggin arrythmia drugs we had to learn!
    Until we are better integrated, its on their shoulders to make sure we understand exactly how to use this clinically. A class average of 72 on the clinical test ain’t cutting it!

  3. March 30, 2007 6:38 am

    Agreed! That’s why we’re trying to get hard data to show students care, create more post-grad opps, and provide tangible solutions. It’s one thing to have a few individuals (myself, guilty as anyone) waving flags and shouting for them to pay attention; it’s anotherthing to have 10,000 samples all saying the same thing, placed on the desks of 23 Deans simultaneously. It is a matter of HEY LOOK HOW COOL THIS IS – but most don’t have that experience before they graduate.

Leave a Reply

