Skip to content

Kaplan highlights- night 1

February 10, 2007

Prof: “So patient presents with a splinter in his finger. He has a Y chromosome, so he left it in there….”

Prof: “So what kind of people would you typically see Vitamin C deficiency, aka scurvy?
Genius: “Pirates?”

Prof: “So why do we only take a baby aspirin instead of an adult aspirin if we are at cardiac risk?”
Me: “Because it prevents platelet aggregation.”
Prof: “No…..its about the specificity. Thromboxane A2 is super-sensitive to salicylates. Prostacyclin not so much (btw, I’ve never heard it called this, its always been PGI2) Prostacyclin prevents platelet formation and clumping involved in blood clotting, which is good. Thromboxane however increases platelet formation and clumping. Now the problem when a plaque ruptures, it releases lipid in the blood, and the platelets clump, obstruct, and cause an MI. So you’ll wanna knock out thromboxane without knocking out prostacyclin, so you won’t get that platelet aggregation.
Me: Wait, isn’t that what I…? …uh…grrr.

There was literally 5 hours of him quizzing us. No lecturing. No teaching. Just questions. And he plans on doing the same thing all weekend. Needless to say, I’m not going back.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2007 1:36 am

    I left at 5PM. I think I would have learned more pathology if I spent the evening masturbating. Unfortunately, I didn’t.

  2. February 10, 2007 5:17 pm

    I joined him at 5. Worthless…time better spent learning about all the ways pregnancy can hurt you. I can’t believe I skipped half the auction for that nonsense.

Leave a Reply

